Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for November 2nd, 2007

The line-cutter

Since Audrey posted about one of her gripes today, I guess I should write about one of mine, too. Especially since it just happened again today.

People who cut the line.

I don’t know about you, but when I’m in one of those ambiguous, no-real-decipherable-way-of-telling-who’s-next lines (the deli counter, for example), I always look around to see who was there before me. You know, just to be sure that I’m not intentionally cutting anyone in line when the deli person/cashier/whomever says, “Who’s next?”

Twice this week I’ve had encounters with people who obviously don’t follow that rule.

At Panera Bread last weekend, my dad and I were standing in line and these two guys literally walked right around us and just stood in front of us. I was willing to give them the benefit of the doubt, so I didn’t say anything immediately.

But then when the cashier said, “Can I help who’s next?” and the two guys walked up to her, I was like, Oh hell no!

I’m not aggressive, but I’m not passive either. Assertive? Yes.

“Excuse me,” I said. “We were here first.”

That was all it took. The guys said they didn’t realize we were in line (strange, as we were, in fact, in the line), and Dad and I went up to the counter to order without further incident.

I didn’t blame the cashier there because she had said, “Can I help who’s next?” and obviously just assumed the guys in the front of the line were next.

But today at Whole Foods, while at the meat counter, it was a different story.

There was no ticket dispenser, so I made sure I knew who was there before me. Once the guy behind the counter helped the last person in front of me, instead of saying, “Who’s next?” he just looked up and said to the first person he saw, “What can I get you?”

The first person he saw, of course, was not me. It was a woman who came after me.

Total pet peeve alert!

In my opinion, it is first up to the counter person or cashier to make sure that they are taking waiting on people in the correct order. But if that person isn’t on the ball, then the people in line need to step up to the plate. You know, look around to make sure they’re not cutting anyone.

I know this isn’t exactly the most important thing in the world, but it really annoys me. That, and I am just a fan of common sense.

Again, I had to use my assertiveness and notify the offending parties that I had been there first. The lady gave me a dirty look, but I didn’t care. My doggies were waiting for me in the car, and I wanted to purchase my ground beef and get out of there.

I think the banks do it right with that maze type of line you have to follow. Sure, it’s annoying when you’re the only one there to have to snake through the ropes, but no one’s going to cut you in that line.

There’s my gripe. And as I finish this post, it’s the official start of my birthday weekend, so no more griping! (As long as no one cuts me in line.)

- Jane
jane.jpg

Read Full Post »

The know-it-all mom

Ugh.

There aren’t many things in the world that seriously annoy me.

(OK, I’m sure that statement will get an eyeroll and a laugh out of Jane.)

But really, not much bothers me. EXCEPT…

Know-it-all mothers.

The worst kind, huh?

I had a quick encounter with one the other day. Briefly, thank goodness. But nonetheless, long enough for me.

I was at Babies “R” Us with my father, looking at car seats for Benjamin. He has now outgrown that heavy/cumbersome/back-breaking bucket seat (thank goodness!).

So as my father and I were perusing the selections, this woman comes up to us and said, “Oh no, do not get that one. It’s horrible. There are no accessories. It’s not comfortable for the baby. And it’s just not appealing to the eye.”

My dad and I kind of looked at each other like, OK… thank you for your completely unsolicited opinion.

And then she asked (in a sarcastic tone), “Honey, do you know how to look for the right seats for him? If you’re lost, you should ask for help.”

There she was. That know-it-all mother who you want to tell to shut up. But since I don’t have the balls to do that, I actually stood there for a few minutes allowing her to share her “expertise” in car seats.

Then in the middle of her monologue (my Dad, who was giving me the just walk away look, had turned around to keep looking at the different seats), she started going on about the best libraries in the area… the best daycares… the best “everything.” Which, of course, both of her kids are enrolled in/members of.

And I found myself thinking, “Why am I standing here? I have 3 kids. I am literally wasting precious minutes of my life that I will NEVER get back listening to this annoying woman.”

I just don’t get and/or understand where women like this come from.

Were they raised this way? Were their mothers like this? Do they actually have people that sit around them and listen with bated breath?

It just never ceases to amaze me that some women have way more self-esteem than they actually need.

If I ever act like that, slap me.

- Audrey
audrey.jpg

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.