Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 31st, 2007

I (Jane) have dubbed Steph at Adventures in Babywearing the Contest Queen… she bangs out awesome contests left and right!

Her latest contest is for a $50 gift certificate to Vincent Shoes.

If I win, I’m all over the “Face” shoe collection:

media.jpeg

Can you say adorable!?

Thanks for another great contest, Steph!!

Read Full Post »

audrey1.jpg
I feel like a new kid on the playground…

But I just feel like screaming this from the rooftops:

I have MOM friends! I have MOM friends! I – yes, I! – have MOM friends!

We moved to our suburban bliss a year and a half ago.

We traded in our one bedroom apartment for a 4 bedroom house. We traded in the subway for a car. We traded in the park for a backyard. And we traded in sky-high prices for nannies and daycare for ME being able to work from home.

Yes, it was a good move all around.

But…

When we left NYC, we also left our friends… something my husband has dealt with perfectly (after all, he travels to NYC once or twice a month and gets to see everyone!). But I had a real tough time for the first year.

I missed being able to “stroll” William and Alexander to the park to see everyone. I missed being able to walk down the block to Starbucks for a quick latte.

I missed having other women understand exactly what I was going through, because they were going through it too – and in the same City, in the same apartment building!

And so after being here in the suburbs for a year, and not having any “young moms” with kids the same age as my guys on our street or close by (that I knew of), I RELUCTANTLY went to our local library one morning in January for something they called “Mother Goose Hour”.

I don’t know why I was so reluctant to go… I’m not a shy woman by any stretch of the imagination. But I guess it was just the unknown of going in and having to deal with women who may be telling me all the “advanced” things their 1-year-olds were doing.

You know these types of women – the children are like 14 months, hardly talking, but they “want to be a doctors when they get older!”

But I went… and there they were – Tina, Stephanie, Kristen and Tracey. Four moms. I liked them instantly.

Maybe it was because we would roll our eyes at each other when the librarian started to get annoyed that one of the 1-year-olds couldn’t sit still for longer than 5 minutes.

Maybe it was because they let their kids be kids and run around and not sit like robots.

Maybe it was because they too had been reluctant about going, but did anyway.

Maybe it was because we all just needed to find each other.

Whatever the true reason is… I have MOM friends! We get each other. We understand each other.

We’re all going through the potty training thing. We know what it’s like to be up all night with a sick baby, or be freaking out that one of our kids has a high temperature!

We know what it’s like to not have showered for a week because you’re so overwhelmed with mom duties! We know what it’s like to have husbands who work long hours, and we’re all there for each other when need be.

It’s amazing…

They were there for me through the last trimester of my pregnancy with Benjamin. They decorated my house with blue balloons and signs everywhere when we came home from the hospital after I delivered!

These are the things you don’t forget… not ever.

And even though we’ve all known each other for less than a year, it’s already the type of friendship that, we can all tell, will stand the test of time.

Maybe it’s because we all met as mothers. And being there for each other, as the kids grow (we have 6 boys and 1 girl between us!) will be something that I hope to be blogging about years from now!

And so… hip hip hurray!

I have MOM friends!

Read Full Post »

We’re Throwing It Back at Pinks & Blues! We’re making every Thursday a sort of
Pinks & Blues Girls: The Early Years photo book.

We’ll post old pictures that make us laugh, reminisce, and – let’s face it – recall some questionable fashion choices!

Mom’s not going to be thrilled that I (Jane) chose this first picture! Yes, she looks fabulous for being a Mom of 4, but the hair? It screams early 1980’s, does it not!? (1983, to be exact, and I really think you look adorable, Mom!) Love the poses on all of us, too. From left to right: Sharon, Jane and Audrey.

suits1.jpeg

This next photo is from 1984 or 1985. It’s one of my favorite pictures of me and my sister. It very much epitomizes our childhood – blissful and carefree. From left to right, Audrey and Jane.

grass.jpeg

And this one is from a trip to Disney World in 1994. You can tell it was humid in Florida by our greasiness quotient. Audrey is rockin’ the vest look like a champ. Oh, and is that a scrunchie around my left wrist? Yes. Hello ’90s! From left to right: Sharon, Jane and Audrey.

florida.jpeg

It would be fun to see YOUR Throwback Thursday pictures on your blogs, too! Let us know if you join in the fun!

Read Full Post »