Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 15th, 2008

Can anything TOP this?

Tomato. To-MAH-to.

Potato. Po-TAH-to.

Top. Napkin ring.

OK. Maybe not the same thing.

But kinda.

This is how the story goes…

I was cleaning my kitchen Sunday evening after a birthday dinner that I had for my Mom’s (infamous “forgotten”) 83rd birthday when I heard a conversation between my Mom and Alexander (Audrey’s 2 1/2 year old son) that went like this:

Ally: (examining a gold filigree napkin ring with a raised red-gem center) Look, Grandma Rita. A top.

Rita: That’s a napkin ring, Honey.

Ally: (spins the napkin ring on the table) It’s a TOP. Look!

Rita: It’s a napkin ring, Honey. See where you put the napkin?

Ally: (with great enthusiasm) You spin it, Grandma Rita!

Rita: (spins the napkin ring) Oh. It spins like a top!

Ally: (gleeful) YOU DID IT! YOU DID IT! SPIN IT AGAIN!

Rita: (spins it again) It IS a top, Ally. And I thought it was just a napkin ring!

Ally and Grandma Rita spun that TOP over and over, again and again, with uproarious laughter for who-knows-how-long… well, until the strawberry shortcake with the birthday candles arrived at the table. Birthday candles trump a TOP any day.

So, you say tomato.

I say TOP.

It doesn’t get any better than this!

- Sharon

**********

Please also read my post: Keep It Simple, Grandparents over at Type-A Mom!

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.