Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 15th, 2007

So I was at the pool club today, sitting on the side of the pool with my sister-in-law.

We were watching my niece and nephew (and Uncle Steve) play in the pool.

abc.jpeg
My nephew getting in the pool

pool.jpeg
My husband Steve and my niece

I was wearing my favorite brown bikini (an old stand-by that I had borrowed from Audrey about four years ago).

It was a halter top, and when I put it on in the locker room I had tied it very tightly around my neck so there was no chance of a surprise nip-slip.

My sister-in-law and I were just chatting away, when all of a sudden I felt a little pop around the back of the bikini, and then a quick release where the strap had been clasped in place in the back.

At this point, a simple nip-slip was the least of my worries.

But luckily, my cat-like reflexes sprung into action, and my hands caught the errant bikini strap at both sides before the entire pool club was witness to an unexpected striptease.

My sister-in-law made a valiant effort to rig a makeshift knot in the back, just to buy me some time to run into the locker room without another chance of a free show. But alas, the bikini had made up its mind.

My sister-in-law ran to grab my tank-top in my bag, and I made it into the locker room to put it on (holding my bikini strap together in the back very tightly with my hand).

When I came back out, my ever-perceptive niece asked me, “Auntie Janie, what happened to your top?”

“It broke,” I lamented.

“How did it break?” she asked.

“The plastic strap snapped in the back,” I said.

“Why?”

Why, indeed?

Maybe I had tied the halter too tight, and the back strap couldn’t handle the pressure.

Maybe it was getting back at me for borrowing it from Audrey too long.

Maybe it just had a really sick sense of humor.

In any case, I was forced to retire my favorite brown bikini and break out the one-piece.

Which, at least gave me the opportunity to show off my diving skills…

dive.jpeg

Beijing 2008, here I come!

Don’t forget to enter our Fabulous Summer Bag Giveaway contest!

Read Full Post »