Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 14th, 2008

The words EVERY pregnant woman hates to be asked: “So, how much weight have you gained?”

Yesterday I popped into a local baby boutique to buy something for a girlfriend of mine who is about to have her first baby.

I was so excited because now with baby boy #4, there isn’t much I need… so any excuse to go into a baby ANYTHING and buy ANYTHING is fun for me.

So as I was going around the store, “they” walked in.

They.

Two women. Obviously pregnant. And apparently not their first pregnancies.

They second they walked I could tell they were mid-conversation about one of their pregnant “friends” who has (and I quote) “gained way too much weight for this stage in her pregnancy. And when she was pregnant with her first, you couldn’t even tell she was pregnant until she was like 30 weeks along.”

WOW.

Here they are. The Pregnancy Weight Watchers.

Ohhh… I can’t stand these women.

And it wasn’t long before they started mentioning how much weight they have each gained so far… and that it’s better this time around because now they know they can exercise and eat healthy during their pregnancy, so when they have the babies, the weight will be EASIER to get off.

Yes, easier to get off.

Believe me, I am ALL about healthy pregnancies. With each pregnancy I have made sure to stay as healthy as I can be. Mostly because I was thinking of my baby. I knew the better the foods I put in, the better it was for the baby.

But, come on, when did gaining weight during pregnancy become a BAD thing?

They continued talking about pregnancy weight like baseball stats. They knew the exact amount of weight they gained with their first pregnancies… and compared it to their current pregnancies… and yada yada yada.

It was funny to listen to… but horrifying to hear that these women were actually concerned with the amount of weight they have gained.

Because honestly? They looked amazing.

They were in workout clothes. Little bumps. And from behind, you could not tell they were pregnant. You know these women, the kind you see and say to yourself, “How is that possible?”

So it wasn’t long before they saw me at the counter buying 2 little outfits when they soared in like birds looking for prey.

“How far along are you… ?”

I politely answered, “6 months… due in June.”

“Oh, we’re due in May.”

MAY? Freaking MAY?

Honestly, they were half my size. It was funny because they actually looked how I looked in December!

They did the obligatory… “Oh, you look great… How do you feel?… Who’s your doctor?… Where are you delivering?”

And I answered back all my quick, short here-you-go answers.

Harmless ladies?

Yes.

But royal pains in my expanding bummy?

Oh, yeah.

– Audrey

Read Full Post »

… or more specifically, Daddy.

OK, I don’t think I can be described as a pushover or a sucker. Unless, of course, it has anything to do with my grandchildren.

I was even one of those pre-grandmother women who said, “How can grandkids be that different from our own kids?”

Well, they are.

Not the kids. But the “suckerdom” that comes with the precious little bundles.

It starts from Day One. It never, ever, ever ends. And it supersedes almost anything that the parents have to say (sorry parents!).

Take this morning, for example.

My little guy Alexander, Audrey’s 2-year old, loves his binkie. Well, not just loves it, but LOVES it.

Now I know damn well that Audrey and her husband Matthew are trying to wean Ally from his beloved “binka,” as he calls it. They have him down to binka at nap and bedtime… unequivocably no binka during the day.

Whoops. Grandma done them wrong!

Matt is out of town for the week. Audrey was driving William to pre-school. Benjamin was napping. Ally had just finished his breakfast… and spotted his binka on the kitchen counter (I had taken it from his crib to wash… or you know how Grandmas are… to sterilize).

Then came the tiny, innocent, whispering “let’s make a deal” question, “Grandma, can I have my binka?”

“ALLLLLLLY… you know Mommy and Daddy don’t allow binkas during the day.”

And then the melt-me answer, “But Grandma, Mommy isn’t home. And Daddy’s in New Ork (his pronunciation of New York).”

Our eyes met. I melted like buttah. Yes, Ally got his binka.

That is, until Mommy got home!

Then the little buggah “convinced” me to play Connect 4 with him while I worked.

Here’s the evidence:

connectfour.jpg

Ah, the “suckerdom” of grandparenthood.

– Sharon

Read Full Post »